And So It Begins

Today, the day after my 28th birthday, I found out where my placement for the year 2016-2017 is. Tucson! I had this feeling about it after the interview, it just really felt right. I’m excited to see and be in a new place, meet new people, and try new things. I’m also nervous. I’ve been in a classroom in some way almost my entire life. I’m nervous to see what it’s like to NOT be in that place, in that space, doing the thing I’m most comfortably uncomfortable with. That’s kind of how I view teaching, comfortably uncomfortable. I love it, I do, but I’m looking forward to something different. I’m sure I will still “teach,” whether it’s part of my placement or not.

 

I’m nervous about biking everywhere, about fundraising, about just…moving far far away from the adopted home of Atlanta. I’m going to miss my community here. I’m saying it now and preparing for it, because I don’t know what I will do without these crazy, wonderful people God has put into my life for the past three years. But it will be alright. Unless the zombies take over Atlanta, it will be here for me when I come back. If they do, I swear I will ride my bike from Tucson to Atlanta to rejoin them in our own walking dead.

 

All silliness aside, this year is going to be hard, amazing, and new. I’m looking forward to it. A lot. I hope you are willing to go with me, through this blog, on my adventure. I will apologize here, in advance, for any ADHD fueled ramblings that might be too long or winding, you’re allowed to skip to the TL;DR (too long, didn’t read, for the less internet savvy) if it gets to be too long and…well…you don’t want to read it! Otherwise, I hope this little peak into the YAV process will be awesome for you to follow with me! Who knows, maybe I’ll even learn something while I’m doing it!

 

For now, I’m signing out. Peace and Love!

 

Rachel Lovins, 2016-2017 Tucson YAV

 

PS if you want to donate to the program I’m doing, it would be much appreciated. Almost half of our site’s funding comes from donations. I’ll put a paypal link up, but if you like to do it the old fashioned way, you can send a check (or money order, I imagine) made out to¬†Tucson Boarderlands YAV to the Tucson Boarderlands YAV Office at the following address:

400 E University

Tucson, AZ 85705
Leave a Reply

