Weddings, sunburns, challenges

So, two wonderful people got married this weekend, and it was super amazing. It brought into full focus how much I’m going to miss Atlanta while I’m gone, and how much I’m going to miss my community. I’m excited to go to Tucson, but I’m sad to leave. I feel like living here in Atlanta and participating in the young adult community here (#humansofnorthave) has really set me up well for going out and trying something totally different, and living in a community as I will be for the next year. It has really made such a difference in my life. I’m sure I’ll have more to say about that in another post.

Anyway, this wedding was absolutely beautiful, and I was so excited to get to participate in the ceremony. I don’t think I’ve laughed and cried and danced so much in quite a while. I came back, however, with an epic-ly awful sunburn. I always apply sunscreen (part of living as the human incarnation of “Casper the Friendly Ghost”) but I forgot to reapply. And then sat outside for quite a while. It’s super bad, y’all. I’ve never had a sunburn this bad and I grew up in Florida. And I’m about to move to Tucson, which can only provide more. I need to find a good sunscreen that applies well, for sure. Otherwise, life is going to be very painful and I’m going to wind up with skin-cancer, which I obviously would prefer not to do. SO needless to say, that’s an adjustment I need to make.

The other thing going on right now is that I started a “SNAP challenge” this week. Normally people do this in September, in conjunction with World Hunger Awareness Month. I decided to do it in preparation for going to do YAV as part of the year is living simply. I love to cook. A lot. I grew up cooking, and have continued to do so throughout my life. I have not, however, always been good at doing so inexpensively, so I’m trying my hand at it. I’ve been using the blog “budgetbytes.com” which is really quite fabulous. She breaks everything down to the cent. I love it. Your goal is to eat on $4.50 a day or less, so roughly $30 a week for groceries. Yesterday, I came in at $4.31 and today I’m set to come in at $4.47. I plan to do a post on thoughts and discoveries and whatever on Sunday at the end of the week.

Overall, everything is going well. Still working through the plans for moving, leaving, etc, while doing other things like getting re-certified here in Georgia, and doing crazy things to my hair (Which I’m dying blue tomorrow!) so lots going on. Lots of homework for the course I’m taking for re-cert, so with that, I’m off. Just a little update, figured it had been a while since I had done.

 

Toodle pip!

 

Rachel

 

PS, as always, head on over to the About page to learn more about donating. We need your help! Make sure when you do that you put my name in the memo line or find a way to note that you’re donating because of me, because we’re each supposed to fundraise a certain amount.

Leave a Reply

